July Male - DJ Eckman

Name: DJ Eckman

Where did you grow up? Buffalo, NY and Hamilton, OH

When did you become a member of the Cornerstone community? I signed up on my birthday in 2016 (July 24)

 What do you do when you are not at Cornerstone? (occupation, hobbies, etc.) I work as a heavy equipment mechanic. Hobbies - sleeping and eating lol. 

What is your favorite workout movement? Most anything with a barbell

What is your least favorite movement your trainer makes you do?  Assault bike sprints 

What is your favorite accomplishment since becoming a part of Cornerstone? Competing in clash this year

What is something about yourself that we might not know? I can wiggle my ears

What advice would you give to someone just getting started in personal training at Cornerstone? 

There’s so much to say lol. Don’t give up on yourself. When everything seems to be going the wrong way, that’s when something great is about to happen. Also they’re probably a hell of a lot stronger than they think. 

What goals do you have for the rest of 2019? I’d like to start working to get better at gymnastics movements and keep chipping away at the PR board. Hopefully do more competitions. 

Fill in the Blank 

I’m #allin Cornerstone because…. My job is really active, climbing all over dump trucks, semis, and all other sorts of things up and down and all around. Doing this and not maintaining a certain level of fitness breaks people down, and I don’t want to be like everyone else. More importantly the community of coaches and members push us all to be better. It’s hard to not want to be your absolute best when you’re surrounded by some of the greatest people. When people hear I do CrossFit, I usually get that look of “oh great”. But it really is, it is great. There is no greater place than here! 


Seneca Seley