May Male - John Fidder

Name:  John Fidder

Where did you grow up? :  Right down the street. Early years at Lakota, later teen years in Northbrook by Northgate Mall.

When did you. become a member of the Cornerstone community? :   August… 2014, I think.

What do you do when you are not at Cornerstone? (occupation, hobbies, etc.): I own a financial planning and investment group by day. For leisure, I love to travel, love concerts, LOVE World Cup Soccer, and anything involving my wife, kids, family, and circle of friends.

What is your favorite workout movement?  Deadlift?  Jerks?

What is your least favorite movement your trainer makes you do? :  There's so many.  But I get a real thrill when a coach KNOWS I can do it, teaches me a few tricks, then proves to me that I really can.  That teamwork and confidence is huge.

What is your favorite accomplishment since becoming a part of Cornerstone?: Getting all the way through this year's Open. Last year's was so hard on me medically that if it put me in the hospital after 17.4.  I just wanted to show myself i could do it. So participating with Sebastian and getting through the whole thing felt really good.

What is something about yourself that we might not know?  I LOVE heavy metal music - Slayer, Lamb of God, Slipknot, etc.  And I named 3 of my 4 kids after World Cup Stars.

What advice would you give to someone just getting started at Cornerstone?  Don't look at others’ weights or times.  Watch yours and get excited when a movement repeats.  It's the only way to know if you're getting stronger and healthier.

What goals do you have for the rest of 2018? I'd love to get Elijah (#3) through Foundations ASAP and want to find a competition that Sebastian and I can do together.

Fill in the Blank

I like…I'm in Vegas as I type this.  I shouldn't answer.

I eat…  just about anything.  

I do… Family.  I really love our group of 6

I am… always trying to get better.

Seneca Seley