December Male - Jared Ashley

atop Mt. Lemon.jpg

Crossfit Cornerstone Athlete of the Month Questionnaire - December

Name:  Jared Ashley

Age:  36

Where did you grow up?  Alberta (Canada) the first 11 years, then Dayton

When did you become a member of the Cornerstone community?  June 2016

What do you do when you are not at Cornerstone?  Mostly I’m a dad to two wild boys and an intensive care nurse.  Every now and then I get to dabble in hiking/backpacking, disc golf, photography, brewing beer, and Magic: The Gathering.  Someday, I’ll get back to skydiving and skiing.

What is your favorite WOD/movement?  I don’t think I can pick one!  I think my favorite movement is nailing any weight or movement I couldn’t do yesterday.

What is your least favorite WOD/movement?  Any long metcon with a bunch of bodyweight stuff and a single heavy movement that throws me from the front of the pack to the back.  Also rowing.

What would your perfect WOD look like?  Something with bodyweight and random skills no one else has.  Like a few rounds of:  Burpees, 50 meter walk while juggling 3 balls, pullups, solve a Rubiks Cube.  Suck on THAT, Rich Froning!  Cash-out should involve eating tacos.

What is your favorite accomplishment/PR since becoming a part of Cornerstone?  Figuring out muscle-ups and double-unders, and all my oly lift PRs.

What is something about yourself that we might not know?  I’m usually quiet, but I do want to talk to you.  I’m just awkward and bad at small talk.

What advice would you give to someone just getting started at Cornerstone?  Schedule your gym time and make it mandatory, like your job or taking your kids to school.  There will be days you don’t want to come... show up anyway, every time.  Once you’re here, you won’t regret it.  If you’re consistent as a rookie, you’ll be guaranteed amazing gains in your first year.  Before you know it, the days of dragging yourself in will be gone, and Cornerstone will be your happy place.

What goals do you have for the rest of 2017?  For 2018, I want a 150 lb snatch, 200 lb clean, 315 back squat, and consistent bar muscle-ups.  Outside the gym, I want to get the kids out on the trail more, and take Steven (my older son) for his first overnight backpacking trip.

Fill in the Blank (one word) 

I like…  novelty

I eat…  everything

I do… life

I am…  fortunate

Seneca Seley