May - Steve Coupland

Steve Coupland


Where are you from? My dad was in the Air Force so we moved around a little.  I was born in CA and moved back when I was in 7th grade so I call Merced, CA home.

Occupation? Technology sales for FusionStorm

Favorite movie:  I like comedies.  Don’t know that I have a favorite.

Favorite music or artist: The big hair bands of the 80’s.

Favorite or current book:  Not a reader!

Favorite food: Italian

What is your fitness background? I have alway been active.  Tried baseball and football when i was younger.  I got my front teeth knocked out playing “flag” football, so my dad said no more of that.  We move to Guam where is was hot!  Spent a lot time at the pool and started swimming.  Continued swimming when we move back to CA, but staring at a black line on the bottom of the pool is boring so began playing water polo and basketball.  Was a two time All American in Water Polo in High School and College.  Had a short stint on the US National Water Polo Team.  Have continued playing water polo and started Crossfit three years ago.

Sport or activity you are training for, if any:  I play on a local water polo team as well as 50’s+ team that Crossfit helps me stay in shape for.  Play in various tournaments with both teams.  Have competed in a few local Crossfit competitions and looking forward to the 2017 Games.

How long have you been CrossFitting? 3 Years

How did you end up at Cornerstone?  The gym I started Crossfit with closed.  I live in Mason and was familiar with Crossfit Cornerstone, so when the other gym closed I tried Cornerstone.  Really enjoy the gym.

How have you seen yourself change (mentally, physically,etc) since being a part of CFC?  Crossfit has made me stronger in all aspects.  It certainly has kept me in shape for water polo.  Less time in that cold water having to stare at that black line!

What is your least favorite CrossFit move? Handstand Pushups!!!

What is your most favorite CrossFit move? Ring Muscle-ups

Is there any particular WOD that you can remember is your favorite?  Anything that can be completed in under 5 mins, I am old!

What are some of your goals that you have for yourself in the next year?  Continue to stay in shape for my overall health, continuing to be able to play water polo and be competitive in Crossfit.

What is something that others may not know about me?  I am married.  My wife has never been to the gym.  We have one daughter, Caylie.  Oh yeah, I can take out my front teeth.  See football comment above.

Seneca Seley